Something, at last!

3 February, 2004 at 7:07 pm (Imported from Old Blog)

For most of yesterday, and today it seems, I had (have) a pain in my back. Tis the kind of pain caused by lying awkwardly in bed. It’s not there all the time just when I move in certain ways.
Bloody annoying.

In a conversation yesterday with someone, I blamed my mattress. He promptly stood up for mattresses. Not sure if it was for all mattresses though, maybe just his own.

The mattress is a wonderful thing though. Which made me think of other everyday, mostly over-looked items that I hugely like.

The fridge, oh, how I do like this one.
Keeping scrummy things fresh and chilled and helping them last longer than they might normally. Brilliant idea.
Matched only by the cooker. What a winning duo. These two should be given awards for their services to humankind.

The chair.
Highly underrated and blamed for accidents that weren’t their fault. If stupid humans want to use them inappropriately, then that’s their business.
What did we use before the chair came along? What would the world be like now if it didn’t exist? Would we all be standing or lying down or, more likely, slouching around? Our backs would be in worst shape than they are now.

oOo! I think the shower has got to be included.
Yea, the bath has it’s plus points, but nothing beats being able to stand under really warm running water when it’s nasty outside!

The mug.
Ah, the humble mug. Holds exactly the right amount of tea/coffee/hot chocolate that you’d want in one sitting; just the right size to dunk biscuits in; slightly let down by the powdered “soup” thing though; it has a handle as well!

The person who inspired this unnecessary drivel lives in Jersey.
The things I’ve learnt in having conversations with him: ermm….. well there was something about a strange place called St Patrick’s. And it’s possible that the place has been taken over by Invader Zim, but don’t tell anyone I said either of these things!

-Bea Whale

Tags:

Leave a comment