AGH! Run away!!

16 February, 2004 at 1:29 pm (Imported from Old Blog, List, Twaddle)

Half term!

Oh, the hell.

Once upon a time I would have been very happy at the thought of no school for a week, close to ecstatic when it was longer. Things change though. Oh woe! how they change!

I do my very best to avoid all public places when the kids are off school. You would think this would play havoc with my social life, but you’ve got to have one for before it gets messed up. (Hey, you said it!)

Now that reminds me….. tis 10 years since I committed the biggest mistake of my life.

I dropped out of school far sooner then the rest of my friends had even considered to think about doing.
I dunno why, maybe it had something to do with the place we all went to, but it kinda seems we all made huge mistakes back then. Some of us still do.

But this got me thinking about what I have learnt, from my own mistakes over the last decade.

  • Don’t get absolutely bladdered in a city/town/wherever, whether at home or far, far away, when you’ve got no mates to keep an eye on you. Not following this bit of common sense can be financially, emtionally and physically expensive.
  • There is always light at the end of the tunnel. (Unless you can’t see, or the lenses on your sunglasses are very dark)
  • Don’t fall in love with married types. And even if they really are about to split up, I reckon it’s still best to leave alone. No one likes baggage. Especially the shitty type.
  • Listen and heed the advice of those who truly know what they’re talking about. (Yes, rechargeable batteries make total sense.)
  • Ignore those who don’t have a fucking clue what they’re talking about.
  • Anything more than snogging on a first date is (proabably) a bad idea.
  • Don’t rely on others to:
    • do the job;
    • do the job well;
    • make you happy.
  • Good friends are never far away. Even if in physical distance they are. Ah, the true beauty of the internet.
  • Whoever thought up waxing was a fucking sadist.

There are probably loads more I could of, but I’ve got to get to the Co-op. Oh no! I’m going outside. Damn you half term!

-Bea Whale

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment